Home > life, mission, opensource > How to make gwibber open Firefox (or any other browser) instead of the default one

How to make gwibber open Firefox (or any other browser) instead of the default one

Since I found Gwibber installed by default with my Ubuntu 10.10 os, I started using it  as my Social broadcast messages client, and I really enjoyed this way to stay informed about anything.

The only annoying thing about this brilliant piece of software was the fact that the links were opened with Epiphany instead of Firefox, that is my default browser.

I googled a little until I found the solution here.

Here is all you have to do to fix this problem:

1) install galternatives

sudo apt-get install galternatives

2) Change the values of these configurations:

gnome-www-browser
x-www-browser

Now gwibber opens the links in the browser you want. Perfect for me 🙂

Categories: life, mission, opensource Tags: , ,
  1. July 12, 2011 at 3:14 am

    Did the trick – many thanks

  2. October 30, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Did not do the trick for me… 😦

  3. April 24, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Nope. Still goes against my default browser.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment